finding peace remembering a man that had it

artist smiling from the heart, creating this momentary masterpiece on the streets with a small red bowl to catch coins and maybe a few washingtons from the tourists as I was exploring the streets of Amsterdam 1984. My first time seeing this caliber of work on the street.. and for free.. Rain started a few moments after I took this picture.. and continued to quickly wash the entire piece, and about four others down into the gutters.completely erasing them all…. I was moved to tears and I had to sit for a while on a park bench for about an hour.. contemplating the experience. Sad yes partially for the amazing art that was gone in an instant…. but mainly I cried happy tears for the artist after I asked him (in the rain) if I could help him try and put a cover or a tent or anything over the painting to preserve it.(save this beauty). his response was a life lesson to me. that I have never forgotten.. he said” eh,, I’ll just do it again,and I am glad so many appreciate my art everyday, and that I am alive and here at this moment to be able to paint everyday and see the smiles on so many people from around the world everyday. enjoying my creations. I feel important!he said..”,he continued ..” to get to redo these paintings every time it rains as a gift from someone greater than myself, and that same person has helped me to find a way to survive.. out here on the streets..if it was not for my art, I would probably get washed away also, right down the drains.. , by our society” I was floored by his “joy” in telling me his beliefs…. I felt like I was being spoken to from a higher level through this person also.. I feel that this is what Easter is about… renewing your faith in what you believe,, ( whatever that may be).. and being grateful to have another day to make a difference and find your life’s calling.and spread joy to others with your gifts.. . I am still looking for my true calling.. .. thanks for reading…. later all…                            (homeless street artist from photos taken on myleave from the Army..) (4.4.15 f. messina)

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

One Day At A Time

A pause, a deep breath, can change a day, it can change a lifetime.

THE FORGOTTEN ONES INC.

A 501 (c)(3) Non-Profit Organization

LindyJordan

Healthy & Financially Independent

Erasmus in Tenerife

A blog for my Erasmus placement in Tenerife, as I have maxxed out my image uploads all new images will be linked to from here and will appear as separate posts, please follow links to https://ashvport.wordpress.com/

KYOKO COLE ART

the art of kyoko cole

#Adopt Orlando

Connecting your generous spirit directly to our Orlando area neighbors in need. Thank you for helping our wounded community heal.

WordPress.com Apps

Apps for any screen

The Lovely

Local Collections

The Vinyl Warhol

Orlando music blog & zine

The DJ Stone Crazy Spot

Music, Nightlife and Booty

A Tribe Called Sanford

54,651 people can't be wrong...

WPRK.org

The Best in Basement Radio

Julie Wilder

Social Entrepreneur + The Voice of Front Porch Radio + Localist Advocate

Future 6 Helping Hand

2015 BIG DREAMS CHANGING MANY LIVES

WanderingUpward

Pollinating Sustainability

orlando retro blog

stories and postcards from orlando's past

A View From The Middle (Class)

Living a "middle class" life, being a dad, politics, random thoughts, current events, humor, music, sports, etc.

