giving is easy

story of this picture.. (not sure who took it just found it) Blanket Orlando ,2 years ago (year 4) at Lake Ivanhoe, well as we always do, We sit at the lake and every year we are amazed and grateful to see who shows up from anywhere to give. This girl shows up.. loaded down with about three huge bags of blankets and other things that she collected from her office.. She said they had just done it the couple days before, and if she had known earlier, she is sure her entire building would have put out boxes to collect,and she wold have had much more. As she is there. (I could see the nervous happiness in her face. Giving does this to you. A good feeling.) So as she is giving me all things she brought, she continues to tell me that her building is downtown Orlando, and every night that she walks to her car after work, she passes a church with a lot of homeless people sleeping and laying all over the sidewalks, and she always wonders what she can do for them… Well. of course my first thought was to say.. wow. YOU are doing it.. I asked her if she would like to take all the blankets that she brought back, put them in her trunk and every day give some out.. ( like we do).. she said NO! I couldn’t do that! kinda confusing to me.. So I said okay. well..I turned her around to let her see all the hundreds of blankets that were left by others.. I said., then why not empty your bags here.. and let’s pick out a hundred of these “other blankets” for you to pass out to the homeless you know of? I have never seen a happier person in my life!. She said YES! that would be so cool… yes, it is hard to follow how she could not take the blankets she brought.. I figured it is like this… The act of selfless giving.. is so large. that HER initial efforts had to be completed.. To really feel like she DID It… and then the process of getting other blankets that she picked out, gave her such joy.. US too!! . That little girl left with three bags full of blankets, just like she had showed up with.! ha! All of us were in tears for the act of giving was all around us.. I love the simple things that happen with this Blanket Orlando thing.. it really just takes small actions to bring great change.. thanks for reading all this..This picture means so much to me, I am pretty messy right now remembering the joy on that girls face….. I don’t know her, but I love her, and love you all that have helped Blanket Orlando continue to occur with such simplicity. Giving is easy.
3.12.17
Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

One Day At A Time

A pause, a deep breath, can change a day, it can change a lifetime.

THE FORGOTTEN ONES INC.

A 501 (c)(3) Non-Profit Organization

LindyJordan

Healthy & Financially Independent

Erasmus in Tenerife

A blog for my Erasmus placement in Tenerife, as I have maxxed out my image uploads all new images will be linked to from here and will appear as separate posts, please follow links to https://ashvport.wordpress.com/

KYOKO COLE ART

the art of kyoko cole

#Adopt Orlando

Connecting your generous spirit directly to our Orlando area neighbors in need. Thank you for helping our wounded community heal.

WordPress.com Apps

Apps for any screen

The Lovely

Local Collections

The Vinyl Warhol

Orlando music blog & zine

The DJ Stone Crazy Spot

Music, Nightlife and Booty

A Tribe Called Sanford

54,651 people can't be wrong...

WPRK.org

The Best in Basement Radio

Julie Wilder

Social Entrepreneur + The Voice of Front Porch Radio + Localist Advocate

Future 6 Helping Hand

2015 BIG DREAMS CHANGING MANY LIVES

WanderingUpward

Pollinating Sustainability

orlando retro

stories and postcards from orlando's past

A View From The Middle (Class)

Living a "middle class" life, being a dad, politics, random thoughts, current events, humor, music, sports, etc.

